The purpose of the MATS PC is to “carry out a continuing, cooperative, and comprehensive multimodal transportation planning process that includes the development of the Long Range Transportation Plan and the Transportation Improvement Program which serve to develop a safe and efficient surface transportation system for all modes of travel.”  The PC is the board that formally adopts the LRTP, TIP and any other documents or positions that officially lay out MATS policies.

The voting membership of the MATS Policy Committee is comprised of the following:

Elected Officials

  • Macon-Bibb County – Mayor, plus 3 commissioners
  • Jones County – Commission Chair
  • Monroe County – Commission Chair

Government Agency Representatives

  • Chairman, Macon-Bibb County Transit Authority
  • Chairman, Middle Georgia Regional Commission
  • Chairman, Macon-Bibb County Planning & Zoning Commission
  • Chairman, Macon-Bibb County Water Authority
  • Commissioner, Georgia Department of Transportation 
  • Chairman, Citizens’ Advisory Committee (MATS CAC)
  • Chairman, Macon-Bibb County Industrial Authority

In addition to the voting members, the following participants are non-voting members:

  • Eighth District Representative, Georgia State Transportation Board
  • Second District Representative, Georgia State Transportation Board
  • Executive Director, Macon-Bibb County Planning & Zoning Commission
  • Division Administrator, Federal Highway Administration
  • Chairman, Macon-Bibb County Urban Development Authority
  • County Manager, Macon-Bibb County
  • Macon-Bibb County Engineer
  • Executive Director, Middle Ga. Regional Commission
  • Local State Representative, State of Georgia

Regular meetings of the MATS Policy Committee are held quarterly.  Meetings will be held on the first (1st)
Wednesday of the designated month 9:30 a.m.  The usual meeting time and place
for this meeting is:

Bibb County Engineering Annex Board Room
760 Third St.
Macon, GA 31201